Events & Lectures

Events Archive


                  


2013

 
A Lunchtime Talk by Stefania Maffeis

Spaces of “Politics” – Aspects of Transnationality in Arendt's Thinking


Tuesday, November 26, 2013 Arendt Center 12:30 pm
 
The Letters between Hannah Arendt and Alfred Kazin
A Lunchtime Talk by Matthias Bormuth (University of Oldenburg) and Thomas Wild (Bard College)
Wednesday, November 20, 2013 Arendt Center 12:30 pm
 
A Lecture by Seth Lipsky - Our Constitutional Moment: Why America's Foundational Document Is So Hot
Monday, October 28, 2013 Olin, Room 102 6:30 pm
 
Seth Lipsky Lunchtime Talk on Opinion Journalism
Monday, October 28, 2013 Arendt Center 12:30 pm
Blogging and the New Public Intellectual - A Conversation with Jay Rosen and Megan Garber
Sunday, October 27, 2013 Bard Graduate Center, 38 West 86th St, NY, NY 5:00 pm
 
A Lecture by Nicole Dewandre: "Rethinking the Human Condition in a Hyperconnected Era"
Wednesday, October 16, 2013 Reem-Kayden Center Laszlo Z. Bito '60 Auditorium 7:00 pm
 
Hannah Arendt: Film Screening, Lecture, and Discussion
One Day University
Sunday, October 13, 2013 NYC - West Side JCC 334 Amsterdam Avenue  10:00 am
What is Politics? A Conference on Hannah Arendt at Villa Aurora
Organized by Villla Aurora in cooperation with The Hannah Arendt Center at Bard College, Annandale on Hudson
Wednesday, October 9, 2013 – Thursday, October 10, 2013 Los Angeles 
Failing Fast: The Educated Citizen in Crisis
Sixth Annual Fall Conference
Thursday, October 3, 2013 – Friday, October 4, 2013 Olin Hall 10:00 am – 6:30 pm
 
Public Debate: Resolved: Online Education Will Save Higher Education
Tuesday, October 1, 2013 RKC103 7:00 pm
 
"Rights and Obligations": Public Conversation on Citizenship and Society
A Discussion Led by Roger Berkowitz Based Upon Hunger of Memory by Richard Rodriguez
Thursday, September 26, 2013 RKC 103 6:00 pm
 
Drones, Killer Robots and Push-Button Wars
Moderated by Roger Berkowitz
Monday, September 23, 2013 Bard MBA for Sustainable Business Space 6:30 pm
 
Annalia 1933
Wednesday, September 18, 2013 – Friday, September 20, 2013 Bard College Campus 
 
Q&A with Roger Berkowitz after a Screening of "Hannah Arendt" in NYC
Sunday, July 21, 2013 Symphony Space 6:00 pm
 
A Discussion with Roger Berkowitz after a Screening of the Movie "Hannah Arendt" in Rhinebeck, NY 
Wednesday, July 17, 2013 Upstate Films 6:00 pm
 
Q&A with Roger Berkowitz after a Screening of "Hannah Arendt" in NYC
Tuesday, July 16, 2013 Quad Cinema 7:40 pm
 
A discussion with Roger Berkowitz about the film "Hannah Arendt" In Millerton, NY.
Saturday, July 13, 2013 Moviehouse in Millerton, NY 
 
Judgment in Extremis A Conference Inspired by the Fiftieth Anniversary of Hannah Arendt's Eichmann in Jerusalem
Thursday, May 16, 2013 – Friday, May 17, 2013 Institute of Cultural Inquiry Berlin, ECLA of Bard  
 
Hudson Valley Premiere of the Film Hannah Arendt
Barbara Sukowa reteams with director Margarethe von Trotta (Rosa Luxemburg) for her brilliant new biopic of influential German–Jewish philosopher and political theorist Hannah Arendt.


Monday, April 29, 2013 Olin Hall 7:00 pm
 
Music in the Holocaust, Jewish Identity and Cosmopolitanism
Part Three: Kurt Weill and the Modernist Migration: Music of Weill and Other Emigres
Saturday, April 27, 2013 Olin Hall 7:00 pm
 
Lecture by Arendt Center fellow, John LeJeune
Hannah Arendt’s Revolutionary Leadership
Tuesday, April 23, 2013 Arendt Center 12:00 pm
 
Music in the Holocaust, Jewish Identity and Cosmopolitanism
Part Two: Music of Warsaw, Lodz and other Eastern Ghettoes
Saturday, April 20, 2013 Olin Hall 7:00 pm
 
Jens Hanssen Lecture
Translating Revolution: Hannah Arendt and Arab Political Culture
Thursday, April 18, 2013 Olin, Room 205 5:00 pm
 
Lecture by Arendt Center Fellow, Grace Hunt


Tuesday, April 16, 2013 Arendt Center 12:00 pm
 
A Lunchtime Talk with László Bitó, '60
"The struggle against antisemitism, holocaust denial and neo-nationalism in Hungary and Eastern Europe."

Monday, April 15, 2013 Arendt Center 12:00 pm
Blogging and the New Public Intellectual: Discussion with David Frum
Tuesday, April 9, 2013 Bard Graduate Center, 18 West 86th St, NY, NY 6:30 pm
 
Birthright Palestine
A Lecture by Dana Yahalomi
Tuesday, April 2, 2013 Olin, Room 102 
 
"Israeli Apartheid and the Myth of Democracy" Talk by Ben White
Tuesday, April 2, 2013 Campus Center, Weis Cinema 
 
Hannah Arendt and the Struggle for Jewish Human Rights
A Lecture by Natan Sznaider
Monday, April 1, 2013 Reem-Kayden Center Laszlo Z. Bito '60 Auditorium 7:00 pm
Screening of the Documentary Orchestra of Exiles
Wednesday, March 20, 2013 Campus Center, Weis Cinema 7:30 pm
Blogging and the New Public Intellectual: Conversation with Amy Davidson and Dylan Byers, '09
Tuesday, March 12, 2013 Bard Graduate Center, 18 West 86th St, NY, NY 6:30 pm – 8:30 pm
 
A Conversation with General Stanley McChrystal
Sunday, March 10, 2013 New York Historical Society 5:00 pm
Blogging and the New Public Intellectual: Discussion with Francine Prose
Tuesday, March 5, 2013 Bard Graduate Center, 18 West 86th St, NY, NY 6:30 pm
 
Music in the Holocaust, Jewish Identity and Cosmopolitanism
Part One: Coercion, Collusion and Creativity: Music of the Terezin Ghetto & the Central European Experience
Saturday, February 23, 2013 Olin Hall 7:00 pm
 
Lunchtime Talk with Marianne LeNabat: "Arendt's Revolutionary Idea: Politics Is Collective Action"
Wednesday, February 20, 2013 Arendt Center 12:00 pm
Organic Beef Farmer and Former Wall Street Crusader Sandy Lewis Discusses "Why Fixing Wall Street and the Economy Is Critical to the World"
In Discussion with Bard Alumnus and Rolling Stone Political and Financial Columnist Matt Taibbi, '92

Tuesday, February 19, 2013 Reem-Kayden Center Laszlo Z. Bito '60 Auditorium 7:00 pm
 
Lecture by Avital Ronell
The Disappearance of Authority
Tuesday, February 12, 2013 Olin, Room 102 7:00 pm
 
Lecture by Merlijn Twaalfhoven - "Hidden Art in a War Zone"
Friday, February 8, 2013 Campus Center, Weis Cinema 12:00 pm