Events & Lectures

Tuesday, February 7, 2017

Courage To Be College Seminar Dinner & Lecture Series, with Penny Gill

6:00 pm
Penny Gill has been teaching European politics and comparative politics at Mount Holyoke for more than three decades. In 2001, the date of her thirtieth anniversary at MHC, Gill received the Mount Holyoke College Faculty Prize for Teaching. The citation noted Gill's "accessibility, concern for each student, love of her subject, and infinite patience," and also cited her instrumental role in organizing Pasts and Presences in the West, a yearlong, interdepartmental survey course for first-year students. The citation reads, in part, "Pasts and Presences testifies to Penny's passionate interest in pedagogy, in finding new ways to goad students into asking fundamental questions of themselves and their society while exposing them to a broad sweep of human experience."

Upcoming Events

Monthly Virtual Reading Group for Hannah Arendt Center Members
Friday, February 6, 2015 – Friday, May 5, 2017
Virtual: BlueJeans Video Conferencing11:00 am – 12:00 pm
Read more
Samantha Hill, Klemens von Klemperer Post Doctoral Fellow Lunchtime Talk
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Arendt Center11:30 am – 1:00 pm
Read more
Courage To Be College Seminar Dinner & Lecture Series, with Tania Bruguera
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
6:00 pm
Read more
HA CIRCLE 2017: Hosted by the Hannah Arendt Center at Bard College
Thursday, March 30, 2017 – Saturday, April 1, 2017
Read more
Book Release and Panel Discussion: Artifacts of Thinking: Reading Arendt's "Denktagebuch"​
Friday, March 31, 2017
4:15 pm
Read more
Georg Zenkert Lecture
Thursday, April 6, 2017
7:00 pm
Read more
Courage To Be College Seminar Dinner & Lecture Series, with Mariame Kaba
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
6:00 pm
Read more
Camille Paglia, The Legacy of the 1960s : Sponsored by the Tough Talk Lecture Series
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Read more
Is the Private Political? A Colloquium on Natality, Laboring, and the Body
Hosted by the Hannah Arendt Center for Politics and Humanities at Bard College
Friday, April 21, 2017
TBA1:00 pm – 7:00 pm
Read more
 
"Thinking in Dark Times: The Crisis of Democracy"
The Hannah Arendt Center at Bard College Annual Fall Conference
Thursday, October 12, 2017 – Friday, October 13, 2017
Olin Hall10:00 am – 5:00 pm
Read more