Events & Lectures

Events Archive


                  


2017

Is the Private Political? A Colloquium on Natality, Laboring, and the Body
Hosted by the Hannah Arendt Center for Politics and Humanities at Bard College
Friday, April 21, 2017 Reem-Kayden Center Laszlo Z. Bito '60 Auditorium 1:00 pm – 7:00 pm
The Myth of Gender Equality by Suzanne Venker
Sponsored by the Hannah Arendt Center's Tough Talk Lecture Series
Thursday, April 13, 2017 Reem-Kayden Center Laszlo Z. Bito '60 Auditorium 
"Berlin’s Bête Noire: Hannah Arendt, Isaiah Berlin, and the Modes of Anti-totalitarian Commitment in the 20th Century." A Lunchtime Talk with Visiting Scholar, Kei Hiruta
Wednesday, April 12, 2017 Arendt Center 1:30 pm
Courage To Be College Seminar Dinner and Lecture Series, with Mariame Kaba
Hosted by: The Hannah Arendt Center
Tuesday, April 11, 2017 Kline, Faculty Dining Room 6:00 pm
Europe in Bad Constitution: A Lecture by Georg Zenkert
Thursday, April 6, 20177:00 pm
Constitutional and Ethical Challenges of our Times
Wednesday, April 5, 2017 Hackensack, NJ 7:30 pm
Book Release and Panel Discussion: Artifacts of Thinking: Reading Arendt's "Denktagebuch"​
Hosted by: The Hannah Arendt Center
Friday, March 31, 2017 Olin, Room 201 4:15 pm
HA CIRCLE 2017: Hosted by the Hannah Arendt Center at Bard College
Thursday, March 30, 2017 – Saturday, April 1, 2017 Olin, Room 201 
Feeling Good is Not Enough: Create a Political Moment. Courage To Be College Seminar Dinner & Lecture Series, with Tania Bruguera
Hosted by: The Hannah Arendt Center
Tuesday, March 28, 2017 Blithewood, Levy Institute 6:00 pm
Lowi's "The End of the Republican Era" and the Beginning of What? Reflections on The Rise of Trump
Hosted by the Hannah Arendt Center and the Political Studies Program
Monday, March 27, 2017 Olin, Room 201 5:00 pm – 6:30 pm
The Hannah Arendt Edition Series with Susanne Lüdemann: Hannah Arendt and the Problem of Judging (in) Modernity.
Hosted by the Hannah Arendt Center and the German Studies Program
Wednesday, March 15, 2017 Olin, Room 204 6:30 pm
Stephen Haswell Todd: Post Doctoral Fellow Lunchtime Talk 
Hosted by: The Hannah Arendt Center
Monday, March 13, 2017 Arendt Center 11:30 am – 1:00 pm
The Italians ... and the challenges of
writing about them
John Hooper, Italy correspondent of The Economist magazine and the author of The Italians (Viking, 2015 & 2016)
Monday, February 27, 2017 RKC 103 5:00 pm
Dance and Politics: Moving Beyond Boundaries
A Lecture by Dana Naomy Mills
Thursday, February 23, 2017 Campus Center, Weis Cinema 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Megachange in the Time of Trump and Technology
 
Darrell West
Vice President and Director of Governance Studies
Brookings Institution
 

Wednesday, February 22, 2017 RKC 103 6:45 pm
Samantha Hill, Klemens von Klemperer Post Doctoral Fellow Lunchtime Talk
Hosted by: The Hannah Arendt Center
Tuesday, February 14, 2017 Arendt Center 11:30 am – 1:00 pm
Courage To Be College Seminar Dinner & Lecture Series, with Penny Gill
Hosted by the Hannah Arendt Center
Tuesday, February 7, 2017 Blithewood, Levy Institute 6:00 pm
Monthly Virtual Reading Group for Hannah Arendt Center Members
Currently Hosting a Special 12 week series, reading Origins of Totalitarianism. Free for Students.
Friday, January 20, 2017 – Thursday, August 31, 2017 Virtual: BlueJeans Video Conferencing 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm